Skip navigation

March 12, 2019

You Cooking Competition Winners

Office of Information Technology 6th Annual Chili & Baked Goods Cook-Off in Support of the UCO Faculty/Staff Campaign

Once again, famous recipes were brought out of hiding and a competitive tension was in the air as the Office of Information Technology held a favorite event to support the UCO Faculty/Staff Campaign. This year’s event had a participation rate of over 66%. All money raised was specified for the Jan Douglas Scholarship fund.

Not only is the cook-off a great way to raise money for the Campaign but it allows OIT personnel to come from all over campus to enjoy some time together. Five judges participated in a blind taste test to choose the winners. Judges were Colin Simmons, Rhonda Templon, Greg Mackey, Michael Liddiard, Eddie McCoy, and Darren Denham. The winners were presented with their prestigious awards during the March OIT All Staff Meeting.

And the winners are…

Chili Winners

1st Place goes to Ashley Glennon for “Mom’s Every Day Chili” lovingly made with beef, black beans, tomatoes, peppers, and spices.

2nd Place goes to Michael Calhoun with “Spicy Chili” handcrafted with ground beef, pork, Applewood bacon and lots of spices.

3rd Place goes to Jack Gordon for his famously known “Anaheim Pepper Chili” slow-cooked with chuck steak, Anaheim peppers, garlic, and chipotle chili powder.

Baked Item Winners

1st Place goes to Colton Drennan for his Banana Crumb Cake.

2nd Place belongs to Cindy Jacobs for her homemade Cheesecake.

It has yet to happen in our 6 years, but this year 3rd place was a tie between Stephanie Edwards for her Cinnaberry Surprise and Jack Gordon for his Strawberry Hand Pies and vanilla ice cream – made with homemade strawberry preserves and homemade vanilla ice cream.

In the end, everyone wins when members of the Office of Information Technology gather for food, fun and the opportunity to give back to UCO by supporting scholarships and advancing the university’s mission of helping students learn.

You Cooking Competition Winners

*not pictured: Colton Drennan