Staff Senate Updates

Ellen Schmidt, Master Electrician, Mitchell Hall Theatre

staff senate update

Staff Senate elections were held in March, and we’re happy to announce the election winners:

Academic Affairs

Ellen Schmidt, Gary Parsons, Jennifer Burris, Liliana Renteria Mendoza, Sue Haller and Zachary Hunter

Enrollment and Student Success

Michael Hendricks, Rachel Fairchild and Stepheny Smith

Finance and Operations

Barb Andrews, Beatriz Garcia Bertrand and Teresa Delaney

Information Technology

Julio Mata


Jodi Elderton

To see a list of current Senators, please visit the Staff Senate website.

April Meeting Highlights

Staff Senate met on Tuesday, April 5th. Guest speaker Provost Charlotte Simmons acknowledged challenges on campus but also highlighted several positive happenings and accomplishments around UCO. The Stakeholder Relations and Involvement Committee introduced SSJR – Affirmation of, and Support for, Sustainability Efforts in the UCO Community, which will be debated and voted on at our May 3rd meeting. The topic of conversation during divisional caucusing was constituent responses to the recent budget forum.

Upcoming Meetings

Tuesday, May 3rd, 2-4pm, FSI 106

Tuesday, June 7th, 2-4pm, FSI 106

For more detailed information regarding the roles of senators, meeting agendas, minutes, how you can bring legislation topics to the senate, please visit the UCO Staff Senate website.

Buddy Broncho made his first appearance in UCO's own newspaper The Vista. It was the October 3, 1932, issue where a Broncho appears wearing a UCO football uniform. He has appeared numerous times throughout the years from local Edmond papers in the 60's to state-wide papers in the 80's. The commissioning of the first ever live mascot appears in UCO's 1979 Bronze Book where Buddy Broncho made his first public appearance at Homecoming. Since that time, Buddy has been a fixture at UCO events and in the hearts of UCO students.