Faculty Senate Update

Dr. Kristi Archuleta, professor, organizational leadership

faculty senate update

The UCO Faculty Senate holds meetings the second Thursday of each month. The regularly scheduled September meeting was held on Tuesday, October 12th due to the timing of fall break. Provost Charlotte Simmons was unable to attend as she was at the Oklahoma State Capitol representing UCO; however, the following guest speakers were able to present and answer questions: Kevin Freeman, Vice President of Finance and Operations and Chief Financial Officer (CFO), Marc Goulding, AAUP President, Dene Roseburr-Olotu, Director, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, Amanda Keesee, Manager, Academic Technology Training, and David Herd, Vice President of Compensation and Benefits. Each guest speaker spoke about their respective area and Dene Roseburr-Olotu gave special presentation on Native American Heritage Month and the Land Acknowledgement.  Successful legislation included the second Faculty Senate proposal of the year: FSP- 2021-2022-002: Acknowledging Native Lands

Confirmation of the Election Results occurred and the following newly elected Faculty senators are welcomed:

College of Business

Narita Anderson (2021-2023)

College of Fine Arts and Design

Sam Ladwig (2021-2023)
Keith Webb (2021-2022)

College of Liberal Arts

Michael Breslin (2021-2023)

The next UCO Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Thursday, November 11th at 2:00 pm. To join this meeting please request the Microsoft Teams link from a Faculty Senator or Faculty Senate President, Jennifer Barger Johnson at JBarger4@uco.edu.

For detailed information regarding contacting Faculty Senators, meeting agendas and minutes, please visit the UCO Faculty Senate Blog