Faculty Senate Update

Kristi Archuleta, associate professor, Organizational Leadership, Adult Education and Safety Sciences

faculty senate update

The UCO Faculty Senate holds meetings the second Thursday of each month. The April meeting was April 8, 2021. Provost Charlotte Simmons was the guest speaker, holding an open session in which the discussion from the February and March meetings about the process of decision-making for open faculty positions in Academic Affairs was continued. 

The UCO Chambers Library Administrators had a brief presentation on ShareOK, UCO’s Institutional Repository and there was a legislative update by Stockton Duvall, UCO’s public affairs specialist.

Faculty Senator elections were completed for the 2021-2023 term and the results are as follows:

College of Business (CB)

Mariya Burdina, Ph.D.

Honggou Wei, Ph.D.

College of Education & Professional Studies (CEPS

Stephanie Canada-Phillips, Ph.D.

Darlinda Cassel, Ph.D.

Lauren Loucks, Ed.D..

College of Fine Arts & Design (CFAD)

Rebecca McGuigan, M.F.A. 

College of Liberal Arts (CLA)

Alyssa Provencio, PhD 

Rashi Shukla, Ph.D.

Anastasia Wickham, Ph.D.

College of Mathematics & Science (CMS)

Nelda Fister, M.S., R.N.

Sanjeewa Gamagedara, Ph.D.

Bradley Paynter, Ph.D.

Nikki Seagraves, Ph.D.

Amanda Waters, Ph.D.

Successful legislation included FSR-2020-2021-01- Covid-19 Impact Statements in Tenure and Promotion Documentation and FSR-2020-2021-02- Faculty Handbook 4.3.6 Leave of Absence. One resolution and three additional proposals were introduced to be voted on at the meeting Thursday, April 29. Faculty Executive Committee elections also occurred during the meeting via Teams.

For detailed information regarding contacting Faculty Senators, meeting agendas and minutes, please visit the UCO Faculty Senate Blog.