University Committee on Diversity

students gathered outsideIn 2008, UCO’s African American Faculty/Staff Association (AAFSA) met with then university leadership, President Roger Webb and Provost William Radke, to discuss the university’s inclusionary efforts regarding African American and other underrepresented faculty, staff, and students. In response, Provost Radke created the Diversity Action Team, chaired by Dean James Machell, College of Education and Professional Studies.

In 2013, the Diversity Action Committee completed a two-year systematic study of diversity on our campus. Among other recommendations, this committee suggested the following and the President’s Cabinet agreed:

  • That the university establish a standing “Committee on Diversity,” including representatives of the students, faculty, and staff, and that the university charge this committee with assessing the climate for diversity on campus and with developing initiatives to enhance that climate and to support students and faculty and staff members from diverse backgrounds.
  • That the university create a prominent and easily accessible Website devoted to diversity on campus as a central electronic resource for students, faculty, staff, and external constituents who are seeking information about the full range of programs and initiatives that foster and sustain diversity within the Central community.

President Don Betz named Diane Feinberg, Assistant Vice President, Human Resources, to chair the Committee on Diversity in 2013. The “Connect to Diversity” website is the culmination of one of the committee’s primary initiatives, and committee members work to consistently collect and gather information and resources to populate the site with viable content. This site will remain a work in progress as new initiatives and programs are implemented.

The Committee on Diversity meets the 2nd Wednesday of every month from 3:30 – 5:00pm in the Provost Conference Room (Lillard Administration Building). Have an idea, or a suggestion? You can email us at If you’d like to serve on the committee, please contact committee chair Diane Feinberg directly at