Skip navigation

August 1, 2018

The Citizen’s Bank Leadership and Civic Engagement Award is given to a faculty or staff member who leads by example and is involved in the community. Each recipient receives $1,000 and an engraved clock. This year’s recipient is Joe Hight, artist-in-residence and E.K. Gaylord Endowed Chair of Journalism Ethics.

The Masonic Endowment for Transformative Learning Award is given to organizations that exemplify the university’s commitment to provide transformative learning experiences to its students. The second-place winner is Hispanic Success Initiative, which promotes a sense of belonging to the UCO and Oklahoma City community. Co-Advised by Dr. David Duty, Lecturer in Mass Communication.

The Vanderford Faculty Awards are given to faculty to honor outstanding work. Recipients receive $1,000 and a plaque funded by the estate of Central alumni Austin and Cleo Patra Vanderford. This award went to: Mark Zimmerman, M.F.A., Associate Professor of Mass Communication, for teaching.

The URS Modeling the Way Award is given to members of the UCO community who consistently lead by example and live the mission, values and goals of the university. Each recipient is awarded a $1,000 check and a Waterford crystal memento, funded by URS. This award went to: Sandra Martin, Lecturer in Mass Communication.

Making a Difference Award is given to a randomly selected faculty or staff member who has donated to the university within the past calendar year. The 2018 recipient is Katrina Lacher, Ph.D., associate professor in the department of history and geography